Home >> News
Twitter icon
Facebook icon
Google icon
StumbleUpon icon icon
Digg icon
LinkedIn icon
MySpace icon
Newsvine icon
Reddit icon

2015 outstanding volunteers honoured

KÁTLODÉÉCHE FIRST NATION (May 7, 2015) – Minister Glen Abernethy will recognize Northwest Territories (NWT) volunteers on behalf of Minister of Municipal and Community Affairs Robert C. McLeod at the 2015 Outstanding Volunteer Awards ceremony on Friday, May 8.  These annual awards provide an opportunity to show our appreciation to volunteers and volunteer organizations for their outstanding contributions in communities across the territory.

“Volunteers play an important role in helping to build sustainable, vibrant communities all over the Northwest Territories, and the Government of the Northwest Territories is committed to supporting them,” said Minister McLeod. “Along with our partner, the NWT Association of Communities, we are pleased to celebrate and recognize those who selflessly devote their time and effort to building betters communities.

Recipients of the 2015 NWT Outstanding Volunteer Awards are:

  • Outstanding Elder Award                   – Florence Barnaby, Fort Good Hope
  • Outstanding Youth Award                   – Renee Ekendia, Behchoko
  • Outstanding Individual Award            – Marilyn Napier, Fort Smith
  • Outstanding Group Award                  – Muskrat Jamboree Committee, Inuvik

MACA presents the Outstanding Volunteer Awards annually to individuals and groups who have helped improve the quality of life in the NWT through volunteerism.  For further details about the Outstanding Volunteer Awards, please visit MACA’s website at

Recognizing and celebrating volunteers who build sustainable, vibrant, safe communities is one way the Government of the Northwest Territories is working to advance the goals of the 17th Legislative Assembly.

Media inquiries:

David Maguire
Communications and Web Advisor
Municipal and Community Affairs
Government of the Northwest Territories
Tel: (867) 920-3092